Opposites Attract

“Hey, what’s your name?” I said, happily.

“It’s Michelle. Got a problem with that?” she hissed.

I was surprised by her coldness. “No, not really. Have you chosen a club to join?” I asked, still smiling, trying to keep the conversation up. This girl was probably just shy.

“Yeah. Soccer.” Her smoldering black eyes said as-matter-of-factly. Her expression was blank. She seemed to be so uninterested in me.

It was getting too frustrating. “Oh. By the way, I’m Taylor. I play volleyball. You wanna walk home together? I saw you at the station earlier this morning.”

“No. I’m fine,” she said, flung her bag over her shoulder and walked away.

Who knew, at that very moment, that the harsh girl I met on that cloudy Monday, would grow to become my best friend?

It has been three years since that day, and she happens to be sitting in a seat right next to me. I see my smile in hers, and I find her voice on the other end of the line when I need to talk someone. Every step she takes, I take another, trying to keep up. She leaps away, turning back for me to catch up. She’s a fast learner and she knows all the ways past me now. Her smile springs flowers in the air and her kindness comes from her heart. She is funny and knows how to be serious when she needs to. Her chocolate smeared smile and her giggles make me feel happy. Her smile is contagious, and I find myself trying to live like she does. Straight, pure, and willing.

Our future holds a lot, and I know that sometimes we will head in different directions. I’m not afraid being alone, but I’m afraid of losing your trust. I hope you see the same me in my eyes 20 years from now, when we have our own families.

“Hey, Taylor, what did you write on that paper we had to turn in yesterday?”

“Uh, you mean the one that asked us where we wanted to go for college? It was due yesterday, wasn’t it? Why haven’t you turned it in?” I ask, frantically looking for the paper in my messy folder. Ahhh. There it is.

“Yeah, that. I didn’t have time to turn it in,” She says, pulling it out of her neat file, without a single crease.

“I wrote: I want to go to America.”

“Really?”

“Yes, really. Why? You do too? ” I was hoping for a yes.

“Because that doesn’t really answer the question. You turned it in like that? ”

“Well, what did you write, then?” Erasing my answer.

“I wrote: I don’t know.” You say, making me laugh.
“Haha. And you turned it in like that?”

Who knows what the future will bring? I might be living in America 3 years from now. You might be studying a totally different thing. Nobody would know that we took the same classes in our junior year. I just want you to know that you made a huge difference in my life, and you helped me put myself together when I was going through hard times. You’re on my speed dial and my fingers are used to finding you out of my contact list. I can do it in my sleep.

I hope that I exist this way in you too, and I hope we remain friends until my heart stops beating, and my breathing slows down to a halt. My dreams may never cross yours, but I want you know that I know God put you in my life for a reason. I want you to know that I understand that you are the more brilliant person in the world. You are a beautiful young lady and I look up to you. I have so many things to learn from you, and I hope that in some way I have made you smile. I know we’re only sixteen now. But years from now, we won’t be the same sixteen year old teenagers.

When you’re sad or missing me, I want you to remember the days we laughed endlessly over stupid things, the days we spent together, the times we listened to music, the days we ate so much candy, and laughed all of the sugar out of our systems.

My eyes will burn as she walks down the aisle one day, and my hands will clap the loudest. She may not stand out in me, but I’m here to tell you that she is the one pushing me from behind. I would be lying if I said that she was an ordinary friend. You were always there for me, and I’ll always be here for you.

God puts people in lives, and he takes them away too. Every person has a reason to live, and a reason to love. God put my best friend in my life to help me find myself. I stand stronger and my footsteps are secure.

“Did you ever wonder what I thought of you when we first met?”

“Where’d that question come from, Michelle?” I ask, remembering the first time I tried to talk to her.

“I was just wondering if you wanted to know. Since you say I was mean at first.”

“Well, what did you think?”

“I thought you were the weirdest girl on earth, Taylor.”

“what-?!?!?!” I ask, glancing up at her. “Why?” I ask, in horror.

She’s just sitting there, laughing her head off. “I don’t remember,” she says in between her giggles. “Maybe because opposites attract.”

Michelle wrote her side of the story. You can read it by clicking on the link below. They may sound a little different, but I promise, mine is the truth. 🙂

https://dihs2010.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/my-perspective/#more-793

About iamkyoko

I'm a 17 year old bilingual high school student :]
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Opposites Attract

  1. Pingback: My Perspective | DouKoku's Blog

Leave a Reply

