Just a Typical Morning

This morning, I woke up before my alarm clock even went off. I felt my sweat trickling down my neck and it gave me shivers.

“Damn it,” I cursed to myself, and fumbled for the remote, usually placed on my bedside table. I pressed the button to turn the air conditioning on.

It was a humid morning as usual, and the fact that my air conditioner had decided to stop working entirely was not helping.

Opening my sleepy and reluctant eyes, I looked out the window. The sky was gray, again, and it looked like it was going to rain.

“Damn it,” I repeated.

I couldn’t remember the last time I had seen a clear, blue, sky. Lately, everything just seemed so bland, so grey, and so tiring.

I narrowed my eyes to look at the clock. I couldn’t make out the time. It could be six fifteen or it could be seven fifteen. If it was the former, I should be far away, drifting in my dreams. If it was the latter, I should have changed already, and should be eating cereal or white rice, what ever we had in the kitchen that morning, downstairs.

I opened my cell phone to look at the time. It was the latter.

“Damn it.” I said quietly to myself, again. My alarm had not rung.

At that moment, I probably should have jumped out of my bed and worn the first thing that I saw on the floor ―My room is a disaster―, but I didn’t feel like it.

Just yesterday, I had been late for school because I had overslept. My mom bailed me out by driving me to school, but all along the way, I had gotten a long lecture from my mom about ‘responsibility’.

I would definitely get another lecture if I don’t make it to school on time. ‘Hmm. Should I bother?’ I thought to myself and decided to let the future me decide.

I closed my willing eyes and drifted back into my dreams.

About The Mad Hatter

I'm a 16 year old girl living in Japan! I lived in London, England from when I was four to seven and have been living in Kyoto, Japan since:)
This entry was posted in Creative Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just a Typical Morning

  1. Ann Ito says:

    I liked you story because it was really easy to relate to.
    It could happen to anyone and it was very real.
    I felt that sometimes there was a mixture of present and past verbs.

Leave a Reply

