Oversleeping (First attempt:Visual-Writing!)

This story was made into a video; by me!

WARNING: Make sure you read the story first! After you read the story, click on the link at the end of the post. It will send you to youtube where my video is posted on. If you are going to comment please comment on this entry.

  ‘Mom can you give me a ride tomorrow morning?’ I said as walked towards the refrigerator. I was so tired. Today was a long day.
  ‘What, what, why?’ my mother said as she washed the dishes. She sounded tired as well.
  ‘Well, I just kinda feel sick because I didn’t sleep because of tests—‘ I said as I looked through the refrigerator. Energy drinks, a mysterious case (probably filled with mystery meat), and beer. Lots of beer.
  ‘Well, none of the students sleep during school, I mean tests, right?’ Mom said. She wasn’t getting it. I really didn’t want to go up the infamous Doshisha hill when I’ve only slept for less than 3 hours.
  I took a bottle of water from the fridge.
  ‘Well, yeahh, but I kinda feel kinda sick and I was wondering if you could be a nice mom and…’ my grew smaller and smaller; she wasn’t going to buy it today. My mom was getting into her usual ‘You always’ pep talks.
  ‘Okay, okay, whatever,’ I said before I started to go into my usual ‘But last time’ complaining. ‘Whatever, night mom!’ I said quite loudly to shut her voice out, while walking out of the room. I could still hear her voice telling my to wake up by six fifty even half way up the stairs.
  ‘Huh, wake up by six fifty, of course I’ll wake up by six fifty,’ I said to myself and to my mom downstairs. How old did she think I was? I’m in high school now; of course I can wake up when ever I want to.
  I saw my ipod on my desk. I set the alarm and put the lights off. Six fifty; hah, easy.

  I woke up to the loud sound of drum kits and guitars. My alarm clock had gone off. The volume was so loud that I jumped up vertically right there in my bed. I must have forgotten to set the volume of my iPod.
  I hurried out of my bed, half asleep, and grabbed my iPod. The floor was freezing cold and it felt like ice against my warm feet. I pressed the stop button, but the noise would not stop.
  ‘Wha, what the, ugh, damn it,’ I realized that I had shifted the HOLD button last night. I immediately unlocked my ipod. The volume was quite loud, and I was worried that I would wake my parents.
  ‘Uggggghhhh shut up shut up shut up…’ I was saying by the time I finally managed to turn the music off.
  ‘Huh,’ I sighed and looked around the room. Tired of all of this chaos from the early morning hours, I slumped onto my bed and looked at the clock. Six forty-five. I looked at my school bag; I should wakeup and start preparing for school.
  I looked at the clock again.
  ‘Well, I did “wake up”,’ I mumbled and dived into my warm bed.

Now its time for the video!
Visit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9PQMoLzY3z8

About The Mad Hatter

I'm a 16 year old girl living in Japan! I lived in London, England from when I was four to seven and have been living in Kyoto, Japan since:)
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oversleeping (First attempt:Visual-Writing!)

  1. Sarah says:

    This is BRILLIANT! Please take a minute and watch. Make sure you see the whole thing! Will she wake up??!?!?

    • The Mad Hatter says:

      I worked pretty hard on making the video (DURING TEST WEEK!)
      so I’m absolutely thrilled that you liked it so much 🙂
      Though I’m not entirely satisfied with the work I’ve done here…
      I think I now know why the books are better than the movies in almost every case. Making a piece of writing come to life visually turned out to be more complex than I expected…

      Overall, I had fun working on this project:)
      I just wish I could have another chance because I feel I was just starting to get the hang of it.
      Thanks for the comment!

    • Sarah says:

      Yes, I agree that everyone could have done more with more time and that the class feels “unfinished”. Did you sign up for Creative Writing in eleventh grade?!??!

      The limits of a class that meets once a week (actually, more like three times a month!) are a disappointing reality, but given the amount of time all of you had, I think everyone did a pretty good job! Kudos all!

      By the way, do you know how many classes we had through the year? How many hours you had of class time? When you look at the actual figures, you can see that what all of you did is pretty significant!

    • Mike W says:

      This student is talented! Maybe a James Cameron in the making.

Leave a Reply

