Tales of Music

Prologue

The moon was the color of blood.
The sky was always dark and gloomy.
There is no sun here.
I heard that a million years ago there was a real sun.
Now, suns are for rich people who can afford to pay expensive tax to live near them.
The others like me lives far away from the sun,
In the deadliest land in the universe.

The Vineyard.

No. 1
Encounter

I let out a deep sigh. I was starved to death, but I couldn’t get anything to eat. In Vineyard, the disparity between the rich and the poor was severe, and most poor people had to fight over food with their fists to live. The strong ones lived and the weak ones died. That was the way it was in Vineyard.
I was wandering the roads searching for something I could eat, when I found a strange object. I think it was an instrument called a guitar, but I wasn’t sure because I quit school a long time ago. I held it in my arms and touched the string. It let out a soft sound. I looked around and made sure that no one was looking. I stroked the strings again, and again. When I noticed, I was playing a song. People came out of their houses to see what was going on. They formed a crowd around me, but I didn’t care much. I just kept on playing my own song. I was feeling great joy for the first time of my life, but the magical time suddenly ended by the appearance of the police. Everyone ran away as fast as they could. I ran away too.
I ran into a narrow alley, and let out a deep sigh of relief. It was then I realized that I was still holding the instrument. My face went pale, and my heart started thumping hard again. I thought hard how to return this instrument to its owner, but I couldn’t get any ideas in my head. Well, of course I couldn’t. I didn’t even know who it belong to!!
“Hey, kid,” A voice said.
“Agghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!” I screamed at the top of my lungs. I tried to run away again, but the man was holding my arms. Okay, now I’m seriously dead, I thought.
“Whoa, wait a minute kid. It’s not like I’m going to bite you.” The guy chuckled. I looked back in horror but the man was smiling to me. “I heard you playing my guitar and I was quite surprised. You’ve got the gift, kid.” he said. He looked very happy while he said that.
What the heck was he saying? Now I was seriously confused. I could see that he isn’t mad about using the guitar without permission, but I couldn’t get the reason.
“Um, sorry sir but what do you mean by a gift?” I asked.
“The gift of music, kid. Your song was terrific. I think you can become an excellent Kagura.” he answered.
I was surprised. Me, being a Kagura? He must be kidding. A Kagura was a musician who played music to heal people’s wounds and sickness. They were also the only people that were allowed to cross the borders between the districts freely. You had to have special talents to be a Kagura. Of course, you had to be able to play beautiful music, but you also had to be able to use magic, too. “You’re kidding me, right? I mean I can’t use magic or anything.” I said. I didn’t trust this guy yet. “You do have an ability to use magic. Maybe you didn’t notice, but there were people who were actually cured by your music,” he responded. I looked at him in suspecting eyes. Realizing that or not, he kept on talking. “Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you my name. My name’s Chris, Chris Walker,” he said and held out his hands for a hand shake.
“My name’s Leo.” I mumbled as I took his hand.
“Leo…what?” he asked, raising an eyebrow.
“I don’t have a last name,” I replied. I was relieved when he asked me that because if he was a policeman he would’ve known that I didn’t have a last name. “I don’t have any parents. I was raised in a church, but that church was demolished.”
“So you don’t have anywhere to go?” he asked, and then made a big grin when I nodded. “Then why don’t you come with me?”
I thought for a minute. I’ve always wanted to get out of Vineyard, but somewhere inside me there was a feeling of fear. Many people try to become a Kagura, but only a handful remains to become one. I finally opened my mouth. Looking Chris straight in the eyes I said. “Take me with you.”
Chris looked at me in a big smile and said, “Alright. From now on your name is Walker, okay? Leo Walker, the apprentice of Chris Walker.”
I opened my eyes widely. I never expected him to become my father. I was startled, but I was happy, too. I smiled to show him that, and Chris smiled back at me, as though he understood my feelings.
From that day on my journey with Chris started. The journey to become the best Kagura.

To be continued…..

This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Fantasy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

